Top 5 Airbnb Tips (for guests/renters)

AIRBNBLOGO1

We interrupt this regularly scheduled blog for a special set of travel advice. As an experienced traveler, I will list my Top Five Airbnb Tips. These little changes will help you save money and teach you how to use the airbnb website like a pro.

5) Inquire about Noise Issues

I always write my potential host a message before booking an Airbnb. My first question is : Are their any noise issues near the apartment? I work from home a lot and do not do well with distractions.

Most of the time they reply favorably. I have on occasion received responses about outside traffic noise, construction, or even a bakery downstairs that starts their bread machines at 4:00 AM (true story in Switzerland).

Approach this with caution. The reason I started asking this question was because I had a rental in Buenos Aires that had construction going on next door and the whole kitchen actually shook during the day (see my Youtube video below for the actual footage). If you are in doubt about the suitability of rental due to noise concerns, move on.

4) Research the Neighborhoods

When you book a hotel or an Airbnb you need to know what part of town you would prefer to stay in. In the past, I favored areas that had a nice mix of nightlife and restaurants. You may prefer more peaceful neighborhoods with parks, museums, and small shops. I would google the city in advance and find out what part of town suits you best, before even starting to search for your perfect Airbnb.

3) Read the Reviews Closely

This sounds like a no-brainer, but too many potential airbnber’s do not read the reviews closely enough from past guests. I like to investigate what they said about the proximity to restaurants/nightlife, the wifi speed, and any issues with hot water, air conditioning or heating. Take your time reviewing a potential Airbnb and you will save yourself from any surprises.

2) Stay at a New or Newer Listing to Save Money

I recommend this tip specifically in expensive cities (New York, Paris, London). I have noticed that newer hosts do not tend to price as competitively as their veteran counterparts. While the property may lack references or have only a handful of them, Airbnb works quite well if the place is not clean or their is a major problem. This is a great opportunity to take a chance on a place that might be a gem and be charging twice as much in one year.

1)Negotiate

This is a tip that few actually utilize (and you will now). If you are staying for a week or longer, do not be afraid to hit the contact host button. Ask them if they would be willing to give you their best rate, or if you are more bold quote a number that is $50.00-$100.00 cheaper then their advertised rate. This trick works exceptionally well, because hosts want to keep their calendars booked year round. I once saved $300.00 on a monthly rental as I told the host I would book it immediately if he would quote me that rate. Do not be shy to bargain, the worst thing they can say is no and you will pay the quoted price. If it is the off-season in a city this works even better.

I hope you all enjoyed my Top 5 Airbnb Tips. Feel free to share this article with your friends and family if you found it useful. I will try to add travel tips to the blog as well as my normal musings about specific locations.

See the attached Youtube link for the video version and hit subscribe to join my channel.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

